I’ve Been Called to Serve…

Well this moment I have waited for for just about my whole life. I have wanted to serve a mission for The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints since I was a little girl. The time has finally come!!! I had finished my papers and turned them in on May  26th, 2014. Unfortunately, my availability had changed to May 29th. I was super anxious and excited. Luckily for me though, the church headquarters in Salt Lake City had accepted my call a bit early. This made me SOOOO happy!!!

Of course my jitters kicked in as soon as I found out it had been sent to the offices. My papers passed all the committees and made a really fast turn around. On Monday, May 2nd I had found out that my call was on its way. Honestly, I could not sit still!! At all! I just really wanted it to come because I had so many questions as to where I was going to serve and what the next 18 months of my life would entail.

The mail for missionary call letters usually arrives on Wednesday if you live around the Salt Lake area. I happen to live quite close so I was assuming my call would come on Wednesday. I was so excited, but sadly my call had not come. I was depressed the whole day. I really wanted it to come on the fourth because if it came the next Wednesday I would have been out of town. Now that would be even harder for me to do. The next best thing was to hope and pray that it would come Thursday or Friday.

Thursday came and I was nervous. It was unknown if my call would come or not. Luckily for me it did. It was a good thing because I basically sat next to the mailbox until the mail lady came. Maryann, our mail lady, drove up to our house and gave me a BIG thumbs up! I was so happy!!! The wait was over, except for the fact that I wanted to wait to open it with my family at 8:30 that night.

The day seemed like forever but 8:30 came and I was so filled with happiness and nervousness and excitement and tears and everything! I had invited four close friends, my grandparents and my immediate family. I wanted to be able to feel the spirit when I opened my mission call. We sang hymn #143 Let the Holy Spirit Guide and then had a prayer. I could not even sing, my voice was cracking really bad. I could feel the spirit so strongly. As I stood and started to open my call it didn’t quite seem real. It still kind of seemed like a dream.

I opened my mission call and brought the paper with my assignment to the top. My eyes immediately went to the word “Cantonese”. My first thought was “who speaks Cantonese? Where do they speak it?” I honestly had no clue until I looked above it. I started reading my mission call. I could barely get through the first line. Tears ran down my face. I was so excited even though it was an unknown to me. My mission call read…

“Dear Sister Stromberg:

You are hereby called to serve as a missionary of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. You are assigned to labor in the China Hong Kong Mission. It is anticipated that you will serve for a period of 18 months.

You should report to the Provo Missionary Training Center on Wednesday, October 15, 2014. You will prepare to preach the gospel in the Cantonese language.”

I was completely blown away. I am going to CHINA!? I had never even thought of China as a possibility for me. Since I have had my mission call I have realized that Hong Kong is the place for me. I am so grateful for the opportunity to serve the people of Hong Kong. I am super excited to share the gospel with them and teach them about Jesus Christ and his sacrifices for each of us. I know that Hong Kong is where I am supposed to be. The Lord really does know me more than I know myself.

Leave a Reply

