She has arrived at the MTC!

Our FIRST letter was handwritten on Wednesday, Oct 15th.  It arrived in our mailbox on  Saturday, but we didn’t get it until after church on Sunday.  Needless to say, we were all totally excited to hear the first bits of her experience in the MTC.

*** I am finally a missionary!!  I have waited so long for this moment & I can say I have made it!!!  The MTC is so awesome.  The gospel and the spirit are everywhere you go and in everything you do.  It is so awesome!  I can already tell that I am going to love the MTC.  The Spirit is amazing and in every single member of the Latter-Day Army of Helaman.  Let me tell you a little bit about the MTC of what I have learned so far.

I have two companions, Sister Allison & Sister de Ocampo (Alyssa’s friend).  Oh so cool!  Sister Allison is from Lester, England.  I can already tell that I will have an excellent British accent.  She’s amazing.  She loves sports and is super friendly.  Sister de Ocampo is from the Philippines.  She is a software engineer and is super smart.  She already finished school and is 23  (Sister Allison is 19 like me :)).

My district is pretty awesome as well.  We are from ALL over the world: Australia (sister), England (Elder/Sister), Philippines (sister), St. George/Ivins (sister), Highland (Elder), Pleasant Grove (sister), Arizona (Elder).  It is so awesome how the gospel stretches just about the whole earth.

I received my Chinese name.  My n ame is Tong Jimuih (Tong is high pitched #1 and Jimuih is pronounced Tsi-moi)  Elder = jeung louh.  The language is beautiful.  I love it!

My teacher is Sister Heaton.  I would ask her if she is related to Sydney, Tyler & Annalee (because she totally looks like them) but she can only answer/talk in Canto!  But ask them for me.  She looks exactly like Lexi, the youngest.  Let me know!

The missionary world is a small but awesome world.  Today I saw Matt Jasperson, Kyle Christensen, Dallin Magill and a couple of others I recognize from around town.  Cool!  Dallin Magill is so awesome!  It is definitely weird to say Elder and Sister.  Like, you can’t say “you guys” or “hey dudes,” nothing like that.  Anyways, Dallin is in my area (not sure what it’s called yet).  All the Cantonese, Cambodian, Hmong, Laotian, Thai & Vietnamese missionaries are together.  I’m already close with the Thai Sisters – Sister Smith & Sister Coates.  They are pretty awesome!  They remind me of Emma.  Anyways, Dallin and I will be in the same area for 8 weeks (until he leaves).

This is so awesome!  I love being a missionary!  This is definitely what I should be doing.  This is the Lord’s work.  I love it!  It was hard to say goodbye, but I know we will all be blessed and protected while we are away.  Stay safe!  I love you all!!

Love,  Tong Jimuih (Sister Stromberg)

P.S.  Use DearElder.com, seriously!  USE IT!  So much easier and it’s free!  Spread the word!  My info is:

Sister Rebecca Stromberg

Dec 15  CHN-HK

2007 North 900 East UNIT #75

Provo, UT  84602

Flyout: Dec 15th  +  Released 20 April 2016

Leave a Reply

