#6 Did I just talk in my sleep?

Week 6.6 - CopyThis week was really awesome! Full of lots of learning from those missionaries and teachers around me and of course the Spirit. The Devotionals are awesome and I can learn each day from a new missionary.

with Sis Nydeggar

with Sis Nydeggar

I probably talk to at least 100 new missionaries a day. I love it! There are so many great people here eager to serve the Lord.

One of the best examples to me though is my companion, Sister De Ocampo. She is great! Mom, let me tell you a little more about her. Sister De Ocampo is from Cavite, Philippines. Which is south of Manila. She speaks Tagalog, English and now Cantonese. She is an amazing servant of the Lord! She has 1 older brother. Get this!!! She is a convert! Which I really admire of her. Her family was converted when she was eight years old. That is also when she was baptized. Cool huh? She enjoys climbing mountains, playing the piano and she LOVES to lead music. It is so cute. We will just be in any meeting and when we sing the hymns her hand goes up and she leads next to her leg. It is just an instinct for her. I love it! She is such a great example to me and her testimony is so strong! We have really grown together with the ups and downs of missionary life. I love her so much!

This last week a miracle happened that I didn’t think would come until I was way into the field. I dreamed in Cantonese!!! AHHH! Everyone always says that when you dream in your language you are half way to fluent. (by the way I am not even close) Oh my heavens! According to Sister Taylor & Allison I spoke in my sleep too. I said, “Ngoh haih hou juhngyiu.” Which means I am important. I guess my dream was pretty crazy. I don’t remember it much but I am so happy that it was in Canto. Let’s just say that this is the second time that I have talked in my sleep here:)

This last Saturday was our last in person TRC. So sad! I love the volunteers that come in…….but today (Monday) we are Skyping members in HONG KONG!!!! I love Hong Kong people! They are great! I can’t wait to teach them. This is our first lesson so we will see how it goes. I hope we will be able to understand them and vice versa. I CANNOT WAIT!!!! Oh and by the way, there are exactly 21 days until we leave!

Buds from LHS Elder Magill & Elder Green

Buds from LHS Elder Magill & Elder Green

A couple of goodbyes happened this week. I said goodbye to a good friend Elder Graham Green-Indiana! (I went to HS with him and served in Student Gov. with him) He leaves the MTC soon and I probably won’t see him before he leaves. But I will see him back in L-Town in 2 years. The next is a childhood friend, Elder Kyle Christensen. He leaves for Korea today. Good luck Elder! The last one is a great friend that I made here at the MTC that really changed my life, Sestra Nydegger. She is great! She headed off to Slovenia this morning! I sure love her and we are planning on traveling together after our missions:)

This next week is Thanksgiving. I am so excited to experience it in the MTC! I love it. We are having a general authority come speak to us in the morning. The gossip is is that Elder Bednar is coming to speak. I really hope so! I love him! We are also doing a HUGE service project. I am super excited for Thanksgiving! I recently heard a quote from President Thomas S. Monson in a devotional. He said, “Think to Thank.” We should really think about what we are thankful for. There are so many blessings that Heavenly Father has given us. We should take a step back and really think about it. I mean we shouldn’t have a holiday to express our gratitude.
So here it goes….. I, Sister Rebecca Stromberg, am so thankful for the gospel of Jesus Christ and the joy it brings to my life; I am grateful for the wonderful opportunity I have to share the gospel and spread happiness throughout Hong Kong in just a little while; for my amazingly supportive and loving family!; the friends who keep me going with their great letters, prayers and love; my teachers who strengthen me in every way; the Hong Kong people whom I have not yet taught but already love. This list could go on and on but I don’t have much time!

I love being a missionary and for this knowledge of who I am, where I came from, and where I am going. I cannot wait to go to Hong Kong! I love the people and I am so happy to be a missionary. It is the best, biggest, hardest, happiest, most amazing thing I have ever done and I love it! Thank you for everyone’s amazing letters, love and most importantly prayers. I can feel them. They are amazing! I love you all! Have a Happy Thanksgiving and remember to “think to thank.”

Leave a Reply

