#8 “He is the gift”

Instagram from Breeann Wise of Becca in the MTC Choir at the BYU Devlotional

Instagram from Breeann Wise of Becca in the MTC Choir at the BYU Devlotional

This week was amazing! Every moment I was a sponge to anything anyone said to me or a group. The MTC is such an amazing place and we can learn so much here. My testimony has grown exponentially and I don’t even know who i would be if I didn’t come on my mission (even if it has only been 2 months). My mission has already changed me and I can’t wait to actually get to Hong Kong and share Christ’s message with them.

The Christmas season is upon us and there are so many things on our minds. Presents, cookies, trees, snow, skiing, happiness, caroling, music, santa, etc. There are many more to name. But have you taken just a thought to really think about why we celebrate or even why Christmas exists?? Well, now is the time to because your mind will be blown and you will feel more love than you can ever imagine. Christmas is about family but more importantly it is about…

Jesus Christ.

Our new name tags

Our new name tags

He is our brother. He is your brother. He is my brother. Christ is an amazing person and he did the most amazing thing that anyone could ever do. He lived for us and performed the Atonement for us. He is the reason we have Christmas. He is the way we can return to live with our Heavenly Father. This week in our Devotionals we were able to watch a video set out by the church that really touches my heart. It is called “He is the Gift.” If you haven’t seen it yet please go to christmas.mormon.org and you will feel the love from just a short film. I have watched the video probably 30 times since it came out. It is so amazing! I love it. This Christmas season I really hope that you can take some time from your busy lives and find a quiet place to invite the spirit as you learn more about Him because He is amazing! I have started to create a stronger relationship with him than I have ever had and I am more happy than I have ever been in my entire life. Trust me. You want and need this relationship. All it takes is learning about Him in the scriptures and kneeling down. When you pray don’t just do the regular prayers that we give. Open up to Him. Let Him be your best friend. He is just waiting to have a real conversation with you. He loves you more than you can imagine.

A quote that I heard during the First Presidency Christmas Devotional was by Bonnie L. Oscarson. She said, “God and [Jesus Christ’s] love is the highest, the noblest, the strongest and the most joyest love there is.” It is so true. His love is SOOOO strong and it feels so awesome. Please just learn more about Him and talk to Him. I have grown so much in just a week that I already feel so much more amazing and happy than before. I love serving him and I know that this gospel is TRUE. I know it because I feel it. I know it because I have searched and studied it. I know it.

My travel plans

My travel plans

…Okay well here is another cool thing that I have learned this week. I am leaving in 7 DAYS! I am so excited! So this marks this letter to be the last one you will read before I am in Hong Kong! Can you believe it?? I can’t! I am sooo excited to go to Hong Kong! The people are amazing and the culture is amazing and the language is amazing. The funny thing is is that I haven’t even met them and I would already dodge a bullet for them and give them tons of hugs. So I fly out on Monday morning bright and early. I leave the MTC at 6am. Isn’t it great. My flight is from SLC to Seattle at 11:10am and then off to Hong Kong from there in the early afternoon. I am so excited. Hopefully I will be able to call home but I am not sure if I will have much time at the airport. But no worries because Christmas is only a couple of days away so I will be able to Skype you. I will try though. I am so excited to go to Hong Kong.

DSC03153 (2) - CopyBut sad news real quick, my companion Sister De Ocampo leaves on Wednesday (her visa expires) but I will see her in the field so it is happy and sad. I will be a solo missionary for a while. I love Sister De Ocampo so much and I know that she will be great! Heavenly Father definitely has great things in store for her:)

I received a new part-time companion for when Sister D leaves. Her name is Sister Castell. She is a solo Sister and she is going to Thailand. Her testimony is so strong and her happy countenance is amazing. She is a convert to the church and has only been a member for 1 1/2 years. So yes I love her. Her conversion story is sooooo amazing and I can feel the spirit oh so strong when she speaks. She is great!

Zone Sisters

Zone Sisters

We said goodbye to the Thai’s today (the other group, not Sister Castell’s district). We have been through everything together. It was sad to see them go but we will for sure see each other after the mission. So I said goodbye to one of my good friends Elder Magill. He will do amazing things in Thailand and I wish him the best of luck:)

Thank you for all of the love and support. I can definitely feel it everywhere I go. I am so sorry that I haven’t responded to everyone’s letters I will try this week. I love you all though and you’re in my prayers.

Peace, love and (soon to be) Asians:)  Sister Stromberg

PS: study John 4:13-15 this week. It is amazing. Take a step back and think about each word. Send me 2-3 sentence of your thoughts on it:)
PPS: Christ loves you.
PPPS: Remember to watch the “He is the Gift” video. If you have already seen it watch it again. Also watch the 1st Presidency Christmas Devotional. You can find it on LDS.org or Mormon.org
PPPPS: I will soon be in Hong Kong! AAAAHHHHH!!!!!

Christmas Tree!

Christmas Tree!

Leave a Reply

