#29 A Four-Year Miracle & Mother’s Day

Well, Happy Mother’s Day Mom!!! I hope your Mother’s Day was filled with happiness and love! I was sending you oodles of hugs from way out here! I love you mom! Happy Mother’s Day and I can’t wait to call you tomorrow morning! It will be nice to hear everyone’s voice and be able to talk to y’all. If you have any questions get them ready, even if they are weird:)

This week was full of miracles and happiness just as every week as a missionary is. In every single day there is a miracle, if we don’t think there is we are looking in the wrong place because Heavenly Father is in the middle of His work. I would like to tell you about a girl named Ng Pui Ying (A-Pui) who changed my life.

Week 29.1This is A-Pui.

She is the most cutest, happiest, most patient, enduring person that I have met on my mission thus far.  Let me tell you a little bit about her. She was introduced into the church back in 2011 and has stayed strong ever since. She has kept coming to church, youth activities and was basically already a member without being baptized. She is so cute! She wanted to be baptized when she was 14 but couldn’t because her parents had different beliefs. She has waited patiently through hard times and continues to endure. I met her back in December when I first got to Hong Kong. Sister Yong (my trainer) and I decided it was time to start seeing her regularly in preparation for her turning 18 and hoping to be baptized. After meetings on the phone and in person, teaching her in the temple visitor room, becoming great friends and many more spiritual experiences, I was blessed enough to witness her baptism on 10 May 2015. Oh what a miracle it was. I have never been to a baptism more powerful and spiritual than hers. She has waited for 4 years to be baptized. Her baptism was held in the 3 primary rooms. Each room was filled to the max with more people out in the halls. The ward was so happy and it was such a happy experience. When she was baptized my testimony was just amplified. I knew that this church was even more true than it was before; being a missionary is the best thing ever; that A-Pui is so amazing; and that each person I meet is a child of God who He wants to receive baptism and come into His fold.

Week 29.4She is the most spiritual happy person I have ever met. If you ever get the chance to meet her you will see that glow around her. Her love of Christ just shows. She is such an amazing example to me of diligence and enduring because of Christ. She is so amazing! I am so blessed that I was able to be at the end of her conversion and help her enter into the waters of baptism. She has had dozens of missionaries teach her and I was so blessed to experience this happy time with her. I have never witnessed a more powerful baptism. Her face just radiated and she will forever remember this moment.

Week 29.3Now this experience with A-Pui has shaped who I am and who I am as a missionary. She gives me hope, happiness, and love for all those around me. She is the light in the darkness and the assurance that miracles do happen. After all her years to trying to be baptized she finally reached baptism and she is the happiest she has ever been. She is amazing and I love A-Pui! I am so grateful to have been part of her story and witness only a few of her miracles.

Week 29.2I have loved serving as a servant of the Lord and I will continue to love it. I learn each day of my mission and there are miracles in every aspect of this work. I know I am here serving at the right place, the right time, the right people, and the right reason.
I love my Savior and I want everyone I meet to feel His same love.

That is why I am a missionary.

I love you family and I can’t wait to talk to you tomorrow. It will be a great phone call. I love being a missionary. I love serving the Lord. I love my Savior.

Love,
Sister Stromberg

PS: Other things that happened this week…
– Ada came to A-Pui’s baptism and I hope that she had the Spirit testify to her.
– We had miracles with finding this week. Advice.. Follow every. single. prompting. even if it feels awkward.
– I love this ward. Cheung Sha Wan has a special place in my heart.
– I sang in sacrament yesterday. It was scary but I am a missionary so I will do what ever I am asked as a way to serve.

Leave a Reply

