#32-2 Sweat stains are out the front door

Beautiful Hahng Fuk Chyun at night

Beautiful Hahng Fuk Chyun at night

Being a missionary is great! I love serving the people in Cheung Sha Wan; I love my companion; I love Hong Kong; and most of all I love the Lord. As a missionary in Hong Kong we meet some really interesting people. A typical day of finding consists of coming in contact with at least 2 or 3 crazy people. They make me laugh and just add more fun to the work. Sometimes they are creepy, sometimes funny but the most important thing I have learned to remember is that they are one of God’s children and I was sent to Hong Kong to love them. I sure love these people here.

Not much happened this week. We were finding for about 6 or 7 hours each day. We have a few lessons but not many. It is hot right now but everyone just says to wait until July. I guess I might die then because it is so hot and humid! That is why I like to say “Sweat stains are out the Front Door.” When you walk out the door to a whole day of finding you drink like 800 liters of water and it is all on your clothes by the end of the day. It is so glorious!:) I don’t mind the humidity but yet it hasn’t felt like a slap in the face yet. We have only been finding in 33 degree weather with about 95% humidity. It should get up to the 40’s soon.

We have been finding a lot lately. We barely have any progressing investigators. I have had about a 180 turn around on my attitude of finding. I have been implementing the 4th missionary talk into my finding and it has completely changed my attitude. I love it so much! I have found that changing my attitude and the way I am really makes up for my purpose. I have been able to have more meaningful prayers, I am happier and I feel like I am fulfilling my purpose as a missionary. I want to continue to become the person the Lord wants me to be but I know only with His help can I be that person.

Lunch & lesson with Karen & Hung Jimuih

Lunch & lesson with Karen & Hung Jimuih

Our investigator Karen is doing really well. She has such a strong desire to change who she is and let the Lord help her. She is now going to school, coming to church, praying..etc. We are so happy. I have really seen the Lord work miracles in her life and how she will be forever changed. We are hoping to set up a time when she can meet with the Bishop so she can start towards baptism on a specific date. We are super excited and I can tell that she is a special spirit chosen of the Lord. I am lucky that I have the opportunity to bear my testimony to her and help her along the way.

Here is a funny story from church. So my full Chinese name is Tong Pui Yan:) It is so cute! It is the same Pui as A-Pui and the same Yan as a member in Sham Shui Po. I told Yan-Yan (SSP member) that that was my name and she all of a sudden was so happy! Then A-Pui heard it and just got so happy too! It made me laugh. They were saying that I am their best friends. It is great! I love the members here in Cheung Sha Wan (and SSP). We had a great time at church yesterday and I just love serving these amazing members.

Cheung Sha Wan is the place for me to be. I love these people with all my heart. I have learned so much. I love them so much and I love being a missionary. It is the greatest calling ever! I am excited for what this next week will entail because it is Sister Nuttall’s Birthday and we are going to see a lot of people this week.

I love you family! I hope I can learn a thing or two from these Chinese Ping Pong Masters! That would be great so I can beat Jake. Jamison’s voice is amazing! I didn’t even know he was that good. Carter that is so cool you won the competition. Keep working hard and Harry keep being the cutest little brother.

I love you more than I love watching people play Ping Pong:)

Love,
Sister Stromberg

PS: today we are going to Sham Shui Po. We are going to explore a little bit more. We saw a life size Iron Man a few days ago and are going to go take a picture with it.

Leave a Reply

